Food, Photos and Friendship

Sisters

So, I don’t know anything about siblings. Not. One. Thing.

Justin has two sister, which actually, kind of makes him like an only child. 1) Because they are sisters 2) Because he is the oldest 3) Because he lives in Massachusetts and they live about 90 miles from each other and their parents… Which makes him more like a satellite brother. Meaning, I can glean NO knowledge from him regarding this sibling situation. Other than to say, that I see the same love and adoration and unspeakable/inexplicable closeness between his sisters that I see between my Aunts.

Now, in my Aunts defense… They had FOUR brothers. Alice and Anna just had Justin. FOUR brothers. Bless their hearts. I don’t think they always loved each other so much. All I know now is that they love us (their kids) a lot, but once a year they go on vacation together and we are not invited. At all. Even a little. And we don’t get any “wish you were here texts.” And when I took their pictures over Christmas, even though my Aunt Lauren felt like reheated *$&% (she got taken to the hospital the next morning where, to this moment, she remains) most of the shots I took of them have these really precious looks of sweetness and affection. Unintentional. Simply captured.

Sisters.

I don’t know. I’ll never have the privilege of understanding it. But I know it when I see it, and I am moved.

Leave a comment